A dialog with my Left Hip

Hello, Left Hip. What’s up?

I had a dream about you last night.

Nope, not that kind of dream (ooh la la!).

The kind that’s more like a message. In it, I could picture a long cord of tendon, reaching from my core down into each hip. On your side, it had never been activated, because I didn’t know how. But then suddenly I did, and I thought ah-ha! Fixed!

Boy, do I wish that was real. Here’s what I’ve been noticing lately, which probably led to that dream:

Pattern: hinging/swinging forward instead of walking fully upright

Tightness: in the hip flexor (front) and the sacro-iliac capsule (back)

Protection: the torso doesn’t want to let this hip drop to its natural spot

Shortness: like the leg length is affected by the tightness

I’m not sure what to do about all this. It’s distressing. I wish there really was a magical hidden tendon I could activate, like in my dream, to fix your wonkiness. Our wonkiness. Whatever.

What I know: this is related to the crazy back and nerve pain last year and the very broken leg several years before that.

What I’ve been trying: strengthening my leg muscles to help my gait become more even. Biking. Focusing on posture. Working on my core muscles. Trying to help out the foundation and the central support of the body…but it doesn’t seem to be doing the trick.

You, my dear Left Hip, are the last fortress of inexplicable crankiness and pain.

That makes me sad. Frustrated, blue, weary, flash-backy, grumpy and grouchy.

What else can I try?

A chiropractic adjustment, the kind where she pulls against the tension of the hip flexor

A visit to my favorite trigger point massage therapist

Some kind of crazy every-hour stretching regimen for the hip flexor

More dialogs, more noticings, more gentle investigations

I tell you what, my dear, dear, beloved Left Hip. I love you so much because we have been through so much, and overcome the most ridiculous obstacles together (remember the ass needle? Hoo boy!).

And listen. Because I love you, I promise I will notice and deal with all the grumpy monsters that come out to play whenever I dwell on the idea of still being a little bit broken. I know this is important. I’m working on it.

And I promise to schedule an appointment to adjust and relax you. And — and! I will also book an extra pampering thing (like a real massage!) to go along with the first appointment, because I know this is a good preemptive move: better to invest in feeling special now than to get grumpy about a medical appointment not being “special enough,” later. I know how that particular monster works — she gets jealous and demanding. Let’s see if this can help her (and us) (and you) feel better about this situation.

.

Happy Friday, lovely friends. I hope your coming week contains: less rain than sun. Fewer frowns than smiles (unless it is the figuring-out kind of frowns). Happy body parts, too. I highly recommend talking to your body parts, if they are cranky. Have you ever tried it?

About jesse k.

Writer. Mama. Spy in the house of self-awareness. Occasional crafter, letterpress geek, and academic snob.
This entry was posted in Blah Into A-ha, Interview With A Mirror, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A dialog with my Left Hip

  1. jess says:

    I have the exact same left hip problems. They include A LOT of lower back problems as well. They resist medical scrutiny. They confound. Stretching might help, or it might not. Running didn’t help but not running hasn’t helped either. Ouchies.

    In short: I sympathize. 🙂

Leave a Reply

