Checking in: the post-Rally hello

Greetings, earthlings.

Sorry, I’m a little bit out of it. Part of me is still at the Playground and I’m not quite ready to be back on this planet yet.

But it’s Friday, so how about a mini check-in? One in which I attempt to get my tongue and my brain and my heart on the same page, for a little bit.

The Good.

Good golly, that Rally. The Maiden Voyage of the good ship Rally.

Can’t quite describe the awesome. So much magic in my heart about this. Let me just repeat two of my tweets from this past week that might give you the tiniest glimpse of what it was like:

Q: You see a Queen, Flowers, Ziggy Stardust & Shiva’s Horns sitting in a circle & the Pirate Queen walks in…where are you? A: The Rally.

As @emmanuelle_a said, you can take the girl out of the Playground but you really can’t take the Playground out of the girl. #Rally

Okay, well maybe that’s not much clearer. Sorry.

If I was to try and transcribe what I remember, right now? It sounds like this in my brain: sparkleLEAP spritz taptap One Five! Two Six! ding! glee-flop-Rio-mmmmmmmm*#$%^(*&&&)))))))….but I promise at some point later I will find a better translator and tell you what I found out and why, if the Rally calls you, you too simply must listen. And go.

(Also, that part about coming back and laughing because I had no idea what it would be like, in the best way possible? Totally happening right now.)

Also good: the quietest of Fridays at work because shhhhh, and also: duh. Because I am not quite ready to be a real person yet. I’m using the no-people-to-bug-me quiet to sit with this Back From Rally feeling and not push myself to do anything until I know exactly what and why and how.

Also good: I came home from Rally last night, heart full and brain saturated and then I almost fell over with joy because my little girl stood up on her own and then took a step towards me. It’s one of those things you know is coming but is still pretty damn adorable and neat when it happens.

The not-really-bad but not quite good.

Wait, there are no bubbles in my office? Well, that’s not right. Maybe I need to change that.

The resting that has to come at the end of the Rally — it’s a kind of rest that really does require energy. Almost as much (and maybe more) than Rallying itself. I’m still figuring out exactly what this resting wants from me.

The slightly crazy.

I wrote around 18,000 words while at the Rally. That’s eighteen thousand. Eighteen. THOUSAND. But whether that number represents a “meh” or a “wow” in your particular universe, let me just add that the number is pretty meaningless because I have no idea how to add up the wild alchemy of everything else that happened.

Suffice to say: huge.

.

.

.

Okay, this is about all I’m capable of writing today. Wishing for you: assorted good things, like quiet time with your favorite nap accessories. Wishing for me: rest, and more rest, and then some more, and again with the resting. I’ll be back to write more soon. Xo.

About jesse k.

Writer. Mama. Spy in the house of self-awareness. Occasional crafter, letterpress geek, and academic snob.
This entry was posted in Checking in, Rallying, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checking in: the post-Rally hello

  1. Emmanuelle says:

    Hi Jesse!

    Since I lamentably missed Havi’s Friday Chicken (-700 sparklepoints for my internet connection for going AWOL until this morning), may I check in with you?

    The Not So Bad But Could Have Been Better:

    – Well, the no internet thing was a bit of a drag, but I suspect that it was good for me. I too needed rest after the Rally, so not going online helped with that
    – Having to listen to endless comments from my catsitter about my cat’s unfriendly behaviour, then trying to stay (somewhat) polite while she launched in an equally endless racist rant. Awkward conversation, to say the least

    The Good Bordering On The Excellent:
    – The Rally, of course. And keeping in touch with everyone – yay!
    – Culling, clearing out and tossing stuff out. Looks like I need more spaciousness in my life right now.
    – Finding very sweet things for my new and vastly improved office – aka my very own mini-Playground
    – Delicious heirloom tomatoes from the Farmers’ Market, and a recipe to make my own fresh mozzarella. I see many a Caprese salad in my future…

    Wishing you tons and tons of rest (also, bubbles), and three cheers for your little girl who took her first step!

    Much sea serpent love and inappropriate sea shanties,
    Emmanuelle

    • jesse k. says:

      Hi Emmanuelle! So happy to hear from you.

      I spent far too MUCH time on the internet on Friday at work (lacking the will to get anything done whatsoever) and I wish it had been the opposite.

      I too am having fun concocting plans to make my workspace more friendly…I’m loving how the Playground is finding ways to sneak into my everyday life. Now that I’ve been there I simply can’t go back to the way things were, you know?

      Sea shanties and sparklepoints to you!
      Jesse.

  2. Pingback: Very Personal Ad No. 6: Work monsters, family swamps, and one bike trailer « my seed house

  3. Pingback: Rally thoughts, Part One « my seed house

Leave a Reply

